h1

Lovely Complex: Shojou Anime Aishirteru!

July 4, 2007

 

 I’m a sucker for Shojou Anime. It has to be said. It it has a romance in it and a couple you are just dying to kiss then I’m there I’m watching it and I am in love with it. I’m not sure what it is about the Anime genre and the romances sub genre within but I just love it. I love seeing these cute big eyed pretty girls get with the man of their dreams and all the obstacles that go in the way. Lovely Complex is a Rom-Com so to speak, so the goo-goo eyes and pretty girls are scare but the slapstick style comedy is abundant and actually quite funny. So Lovely Complex has been providing me with a refreshing take on the Romance Genre. There are no violent girls kicking men halfway across the road and a lot less innuendo then a lot of Rom-Com Animes I’ve seen (Ilove violence and Innuendo though don’t get me wrong (;)

 

The story is essential about Koizumi Risa and Ootani Atsushi. Risa is above avergae heigh and Ootani is below average height and together they are labelled All Hanshin Kyojin, a comedy duo within their class. Because of certain personality differences and the height issue they are always fighting and look silly doing so and are therefore always providing entertainment for their classmates, hence the comedy Duo. It starts off with the two getting along famously, they have the same interests and get excited about the same thing and you think “WOW They are made for each other” But they start off with a contest to see who can get a bf/gf first! We see their relationship progress and I don’t want to give anything away so that’s all I’m going to say on the matter for now (:

 

My fave character so far has to be Nobo Chan (: She’s the typically cute yet gutsy girl who all the boys love. She has the hot basketball star boyfriend and seems to know it all about realtionships. Why do I love her? Well in Episode 10 I think she shouts “RISA BARE YOUR CHEST” a lot which cracked me up no end. Episode 10 is a funny Episode. At least I think it was 10, I forget. Ootani’s complete density to the situation around him made for good watching too, just because you get to see everyones frustration at how slow he is.

 

Lovely Complex is an interesting take on a RomCom Anime. Its fast, fun and full of visual comedy that actually is funny. The story is cute and the characters are engaging. If you haven’t checked it out yet I suggest you download it because it’s seriously good watching.

 

(:

 

Leave a Reply

